#TOTW (11-05-15) “You are not alone” – Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD)

This week, i’ve chosen to give another chance for people to learn a bit about Body Dysmorphic Disorder or BDD, so my chosen #TOTW is:

(2/2) You are not alone – Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD)

This is a short – just over 2 minutes – video from the BDD Foundation about what they describe as an “…obsessive anxiety condition that leaves people convinced there is something flawed or “ugly” about their looks.”

If you are interested in finding out more, then check out the other link I posted about BDD:

(1/2) Body dysmorphic disorder: charity video reveals the image anxieties that can push people to the edge

This article from the Guardian mentions Robert Pattinson and his struggle with BDD. He stated:

I get a ton of anxiety, right up until the second I get out of the car to the event, when suddenly it completely dissipates,” said Pattinson. “But up until that moment I’m a nutcase. Body dysmorphia, overall tremendous anxiety… I don’t have a six-pack and I hate going to the gym. I’ve been like that my whole life. I never want to take my shirt off.”

I realise that in this day and age there appears to be a disorder for pretty much anything, but at it’s heart BDD is about anxiety, and we all suffer from that at some stage or another!

I hope you’ve learned something today, and that you might talk to people about BDD and maybe even share the links such that others can learn. Yesterday I watched Jonny Benjamin in his very emotional documentary “The Stranger on the Bridge“, about his struggle with mental health. One of the things he said that stuck in my mind was “It’s about connecting with people,” which is what I am trying to achieve with my radiographerben profile.

I hope I am…connecting with people.

Thank you for reading 🙂

2 thoughts on “#TOTW (11-05-15) “You are not alone” – Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD)

  1. The documentary ‘stranger on the bridge’ really touched a nerve with me and I couldn’t stop crying for 4 hours 😂 but what Jonny said is so true!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

