#TOTW from 03-6-16 ‘#LGBTI+’

Ciao!

Good week? Weekend? Hope so! Now I popped this tweet out on Friday afternoon and I don’t think it was seen by as many people as I think it should be seen by – hence my choice for #TOTW is:

Know what they mean?

As I said in my reply to the tweet, a lot of people may not feel that this is important and fair enough, each to their own. I however, would respectfully disagree. It *IS* important if you are one of the minority groups that is trying to get your message out there and to educate others as to who you are and how you feel.

The link above takes you to a really good webpage that explains the whole abbreviation thing and how it has evolved. I too used to think that we should stop at ‘LGBT’ and the other minority groups would come under that umbrella. However, as I have learnt more about the issues of equality and diversity, I feel that it is important to represent the ever-growing number of individuals that do not feel they are either lesbian, gay, bi, transgender or intersex. This we can most easily and fairly do I believe, by adding either a ‘+’ or a ‘*’ after the the abbreviation LGBTI – hence giving you the title of this blog!

It would be great if we lived in a world where a person’s gender and or sexuality wasn’t an issue. However, we don’t, and so it is important that people of a minority group feel suitably represented. Agree or disagree, but thanks for taking the time to read it 🙂

#ReadLearnShare

Ben 🙂

Leave a Reply

