#TOTW from 13-03-15 – What Terry Pratchett said about death

This week saw “Death” come to collect Terry Pratchett, so my #TOTW has to be one which contained a number of things that both TP as himself and “Death” said:

What said about  

My favourite quote being:

I dare say that quite a few people have contemplated death for reasons that much later seemed to them to be quite minor. If we are to live in a world where a socially acceptable ‘early death’ can be allowed, it must be allowed as a result of careful consideration.

“Let us consider me as a test case. As I have said, I would like to die peacefully with Thomas Tallis on my iPod before the disease takes me over and I hope that will not be for quite some time to come, because if I knew that I could die at any time I wanted, then suddenly every day would be as precious as a million pounds. If I knew that I could die, I would live. My life, my death, my choice.

(Richard Dimbleby Lecture, 2010)

Couldn’t have put it better myself Sir Terry…but then words were – still are – his speciality!

Bon voyage TP!

Leave a Reply

